Can’t We All Just Get Along?

One of the many advantages of living here in Florida is the abundant wildlife. Yet, human overpopulation is threatening our natural resources at an alarming rate. Interestingly enough, most people move here because they want to be connected to nature. They want a slower pace of life. And it is not just retired folks who move here, but young growing families want a simpler way of life too. All of us living in harmony with nature seems so idyllic. Yet, I keep hearing stories about animals being killed or separated from each other by no fault of their own. Many of these animals have been here longer than most of us. For instance, the alligators’ habitat is quickly being destroyed and they are running out of space. And if someone spots an alligator near developed areas, they call to have it removed. In other words, most of the time the alligator is destroyed. Yet, most people must know that alligators do live in Florida before they move here. So, why not accept the fact that alligators are a part of life here without having them destroyed? It’s not just alligators that are viewed as a nuisance. Just a couple of weeks ago, there was a local story here that went national. Specifically, there was a hawk that just gave birth to two baby hatchlings. As any new mom would be, she was protective of her babies. Unfortunately, her nest was located in a residential development that would prove to be a costly mistake. If the homeowner got too close to her nest, she would fly down aggressively. At one point, the homeowner said that the hawk scratched him. So the homeowner called the authorities, and they decided to grant him permission to have the baby hatchlings removed from the nest. Humans using “bird puppets” will now raise them. And what about mom? She will be heartbroken beyond belief! So, the end result is families are broken up, but is this a viable solution? Were there no other reasonable alternatives? In my opinion, we need to look at the whole picture, not just what is good for us in the short-term. Empathy is a virtue. Let’s have some empathy for people and animals too.

About wordswithpurpose

Compassion motivates and inspires me. Whether it’s compassion for animals, the environment, or people–I embrace it. I try to live a compassionate life each and everyday. It gives me purpose.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Can’t We All Just Get Along?

  1. Hayley Rose says:

    It is appalling how developers endlessly build homes to make a quick buck. They cannot even sell the houses anymore- everything was done in vain. The hawk story is horrible It reminds me of a story about a hawk in NYC. The hawk built a nest on a ritzy apartment complex. The inhabitants fought to get rid of him. But why???
    I live in CT near a hunting ground (where they stock the woods and pond with critters to kill) and a reservoir. Because of the vastness of the reservoir and the hunting grounds there are lots of woods around here, but they recently built a ton of McMansions down the street from me. Not long after the houses went up I woke up one morning to see a bear eating from my bird feeder!
    Also, I recently visited your home state which I love, and randomly encountered wild dolphins while swimming. It breaks my heart to hear what’s happened to them in the aftermath of the oil spill. When will others start caring? 😦

    • Well said! I could not agree with you more. I do hope that people will consider the ramifications of their actions. Animals deserve to live a life free from harm. It must be so horrifying to live in a constant state of “run for your life.” It’s not a valid excuse to say that they are “just animals.” They are capable of feeling pain just like you and me. Anyway, I am so glad that you stopped by.

  2. veganrabbit says:

    The hawk was just defending her babies like any of us humans would do for our own babies. None of us really “own” any of the land. It’s just a piece of paper. Ultimately the land is owned by nature. Who are we to say a bird can’t make a nest in a tree simply because it happened to be on “our property”? Good job wordswithpurpose!!

  3. It is so nice of you to speak and fight for the rights of these animals. Man can be so selfish at times. Money and greed can blind a person to do acts that is destructive to our environment, to the wildlife , even to another human being. We need to preserve of what’s left of mother nature. Man needs to co-exist with these amazing creatures. There is an alligator in my subdivision’s lake and it has not bothered anyone. We try to respect it’s natural habitat and so far it has peacefully co-exist with man and vice versa. I feel bad for the hatchlings and their mom. What they did was wrong. Stay blessed. Thanks for sharing and the visit.

    • Wonderfully said! I love how you mention that we should coexist. I just wish that everyone felt the same way as you do. By the way, I think that’s cool that you have an alligator in your subdivision’s lake. Anyway, thanks for your kind and inspiring words. I love all of your comments. Many blessings to you and your family too. 🙂

  4. Sony Fugaban says:

    Could the homeowner just stay inside his house and let the mother hawk in her nest? I know what you’re thinking … And I was thinking, unless the poor creatures are on the homeowner’s bed, he should have not called the authorities. I so felt the mother hawk’s grief and my heart was like crashed to pieces. Sometimes, people really forget how the earth or, in this case nature, operates. Like what The Island Traveler said, men co-exist with animals. Simple yet the selfishness of men has grown beyond proportion that they were already acting like gods over animals. The fact that these creatures can never have land titles nor any other form of real properties makes me more appalled for that person’s inconsideration. What a selfish act … I think, stuff like that should be “educated” to people especially those who have the same brain like the subject person.

    • My heart was crushed too when I heard about this Sony. It is very sad to me when people have no empathy for animals. Yet, interestingly enough, many people move here to get away from the horrific traffic and congestion that is common in larger cities only later to complain about the wildlife. Fortunately, Florida is abundant with beauty wildlife. This is one of the reasons that people love to move to Florida. Developers actually “name” new housing communities after our beautiful wildlife and majestic trees to “attract” buyers. These residential developments soon become “void” of the wildlife or trees that they were named after. At any rate, one day I was driving when traffic stopped ahead of me. It was raining, so I figured it was a car accident. After a few minutes, the traffic started slowly moving again. I soon realized what had happened. Sadly, a beautiful Sandhill Crane had been hit by a motorist and lay dead in the road. Other Sandhill Cranes were surrounding the dead body “mourning” over it. It was so sad. My heart was crushed to see such a horrific sight. I don’t know if you are familiar with the Florida Sandhill Crane, but they are extremely large birds with a 6-8 foot wingspan. Habitat destruction is their greatest threat. Needless to say, it’s becoming more of a challenge for wildlife to survive. And I so agree with you that education is important. I just hope that we can leave some space for all the beautiful creatures that share the earth with us. As always, I appreciate your insight. You are really one “cool” guy!

  5. Sony Fugaban says:

    I just realized how I got confused with the word crash for the supposed crush. Thanks for using that twice in your reply which really. I mean really like it when I am taught indirectly. Anyways, going back to the story, I “googled” Florida Sandhill Crane and I was surprised to see how stunning she is with all that long legs and red head (if that’s what you call that part 🙂 ) It’s another saddening news though. With the kind of environment your place has, I think there should be at least an ordinance to be created out of these issues. The abundant wildlife you have there is a rarity nowadays and protecting or preserving is the best way to give back to Earth who’s been so kind to us. Needless to say, if we also want our future generation to see wonders like the Sandhill Crane.

    You’re welcome, Donna! I am also catching up on some of your older post and when I do it, I really read every word there. Doing the latter lets me discover the words with purpose …

    • Thanks Sony for your wonderful comment! I didn’t even notice that you used the word “crashed” instead of “crushed” until you just pointed it out! It really doesn’t matter anyway because we all do stuff like that every so often. I’m living proof of that. I typed in only one quotation mark on the last comment that I left on your blog. Take a close look and you will notice it! Besides, what matters most is that we share our words with our blogging friends. Also, I’m glad to hear that you had a chance to see the Florida Sandhill Crane. A real sight to behold, wouldn’t you say? By the way, we do have laws (both state and federal) to help protect the “threatened” Sandhill Crane. Yet, it’s just not enough. Unfortunately, their population still continues to decline. I guess we shall see what the future holds. In the meanwhile, I plan on appreciating them as well as all the other beautiful wildlife (i.e., hawks, alligators, etc.). Finally, I didn’t forget about your recommendations. I plan on reading that book. I am also going to rent those movies. I’ve already researched it. 🙂

  6. jakesprinter says:

    Great Article Doc I miss this blog 🙂

    • Thanks very much Jake! It’s great to see that my very first post is still getting read. So, thanks for making my day by taking time to read it. By the way, your nickname for me makes me think of “Bugs Bunny,” the cute Looney Tunes rabbit! I love his famous signature line, “What’s Up, Doc?” 🙂

Leave a Reply

