Heartbreak, Happiness, and a Hero

Each day is exciting to me. Some days are not as exciting as others, but still exciting. It’s not like everyday needs to be an adventure, but it sure makes life interesting. However, there are those days every once in a while that life throws a curve ball. Fortunately, I don’t get too many of those.

Like any relaxing weekend, there are errands that still need to get done. So, off I went to get some bird food for my backyard bird feeder. Not exactly an adventure, but the birds are important to me. With bird feed in hand, I proceed to pay for my bird food when the cashier decides to share some horrific news with me. It’s not like I personally know the cashier. Apparently, she just wanted someone to talk to about her horrific experience.

To be specific, she told me that she had seen a man abusing a dog. There wasn’t much time to get into the details with her as others were waiting in line behind me. However, she did mention that the man repeatedly kicked the dog in the head. She continued with the horrific details in the brief time that I was at the checkout. In addition, she proceeded to tell me that she went over to the man and confronted him about the abuse. At that point, he told her that it wasn’t his dog. She then took the dog away from him and contacted authorities. Nonetheless, I don’t think it made a difference as to whether or not it was his dog anyway because the dog needed help. Fortunately, she mentioned that she took the dog to a veterinarian where the dog was treated for his/her injuries.

Credit: Addicted Eyes Via Creative Commons

Luckily, it appears that the dog is going to be okay. Who knows whether or not that man owned the dog, but the cashier did mention that the dog has found a new home. It was great to hear that someone cared enough to get involved and called authorities. Otherwise that dog may never have made it.

The bad news is that there are people in the world who harm animals. The good news is that there are people in the world that care about animals. In my opinion, this woman who took the time to get involved is a hero. Not everyone would have the courage to get involved. After all, anyone who abuses animals can also harm people. However, it sounded like it was a very fast-moving situation in which she needed to respond right away. Moreover, it probably would have taken authorities some time to respond. By that time, the dog could have been dead from a head injury.

I admit it gets a bit frustrating when I hear heartbreaking stories like this one. Actually, I read about stories like this in the paper often, but I have never actually been told one in person. And as bad as it seems, there is a good side to this story.

There are heroes that live among us. We may never know who they are, but they are out there. They are the people making a difference like the cashier at the store. I’m sure there are those who may say that she must be financially poor working as a cashier. Yet, the truth is she is richer than most people may realize. Her heart is proof of that.

I did get a chance to thank her for helping that dog in need. Even so, I’m guessing she didn’t need a thank you. She seems like she thrives on not what people think, but what difference she can make.

About wordswithpurpose

Compassion motivates and inspires me. Whether it’s compassion for animals, the environment, or people–I embrace it. I try to live a compassionate life each and everyday. It gives me purpose.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Heartbreak, Happiness, and a Hero

  1. barb19 says:

    Thank goodness the cashier had the courage to intervene and help that poor dog; if I saw something like that happening, my impulse would have been the same – to stop the dog being injured; my conscience wouldn’t let me stand by and let it happen. I’m so glad the dog was ok, and I applaud that lady, she is one of the good ones.

    • Barb, I am so with you! I too couldn’t imagine just standing there without helping that dog. I am just so glad that she helped the dog. And she is definitely one of the good ones. I so appreciate your comment.

  2. “There are heroes among us. ” Just a beautiful post. Sometimes it takes a good, hopeful, inspiring story to bring out the best in the others. I just don’t understand why some people can be cruel not just to animals but to each other. Both the cashier and you have a kind and generous heart. I hope that with more positive stories like yours, more people would try to make a difference so the World around them can heal and be a better place for everyone. Thank you for the visit and the generous comment . it made my day.

    • Thanks so much for the kind words. Your words are very inspiring. Unfortunately, often times we never really get to know people until something tragic happens like this incident. Yet, there are good people who would help if confronted with a horrific situation. By the way, you are a “hero” in my book. I think anyone who does the work that you do at the hospital is a “hero.” See, I told you that there are “heroes among us.” 🙂

  3. I’m glad that the cashier did the right thing by confronting the abuser and helping the poor dog. I can’t stand to see animals being hurt and it angers me to think that people can be so cruel by hurting such beautiful creatures.

    My husband had the most wonderful dog back home in Washington. He was such a mischievous, protective, and all around great dog and we were all devastated when he passed away earlier this year. When he was a puppy they found him chained to a post near a grocery store badly beaten and abused. They kept him and he grew up to not just be a pet but a member of the family.

    I know there are a lot of bad people who inflict pain upon helpless animals but the number of good people far outnumber them. Beautiful and inspiring post!

    • I am sorry to hear about you and your husband’s loss. I know how devastating it can be to lose a pet (aka family member). My husband and I just loss our cat back in February of this year. I’ve had several pets since I was a kid and it never gets any easier. By the way, that was so nice of your husband to rescue that dog. Another hero!! It’s great to know that there are kind people out there who do make a difference. You and your husband are very kind people. I appreciate your comment.

  4. I am sorry to hear about your loss too. 😦 They really do leave prints on our hearts.

    Thank you for the kind words. I agree with you about the loss of a pet, it never does get easier. I have had several pets too. In Texas I had two ferrets and cats who I miss very much and are well taken care of by my parents. My parents love animals just as much as me and I think it helps them since my sister and I have long since left the house.

    The first experience I had of losing a pet was when I was in my teens. It was so unexpected and traumatic and to this day when I think of my poor ferret Pretzel I get close to tears. It’s also the same with the other ferret Beast Master (weird name I know) who started losing his fur and passed away due to old age. He was so sweet and would lay on my chest to cuddle and I miss him. Actually I miss all of them and can’t wait to visit the ones in Texas!

    How many pets do you have? Do you have any shelter animals?

    • Thanks for your kind words too. It must be comforting to know that your pets are being well taken care of. It’s great to hear that your parents are pet lovers too. Also, that must have been so tough for you losing your ferrets. I think ferrets are so cute and lovable. Hopefully, we will be reunited one day with our “family.”

      As I am writing this, I have one adult feral cat with her three kittens in my screen room. We have been working with the mom for the past year. She would never let me get near her. So, it took some time to “win her over.” Also, she was pregnant. So, we now have four feral cats in our screen room as of yesterday. The mom will not let us touch her yet. The kittens are more approachable, but not domesticated yet. We are going to take them to the veterinarian to get them spayed and neutered. Also, they will need shots, etc. I don’t know whether or not the “mom” cat will ever adapt to being indoors, but we will do what we can. If not, at least she will be spayed, fed and cared for. They are all adorable. It’s unfortunate that they never had a home. All of my previous animals were either abandoned or never had a home. They all made wonderful pets that were family to us. By the way, as I am writing this, the adult mom is constantly “meowing.” She is not accustomed to being enclosed or near people. So, she is a bit stressed. She is constantly looking for ways out. We are trying to make it as comfortable for her (and the kittens) as possible. Hopefully, she will calm down in time. I did not want to separate her from the kittens, so we are keeping them as well. Also, I love dogs too. I just don’t have any at the moment. Thanks so much for asking.

  5. Rebekah says:

    Heartbreaking, but also heart-warming, that there still are people like that amongst us … like the cashier. True hero. But stories like this fills me with such emotions that I don’t know what to do with …about the man, and I can think of several, suitable modes of punishments …and I’d like to do it personally. It drives me nuts that there are people around that can do things like that to innocent animals…

    • I so agree with you Rebekah! It drives me nuts too what some people can do to innocent animals. However, it’s nice to know that there are good people out there that really do care about animals. It breaks my heart when people have absolutely no compassion for animals. Anyway, thanks so much for your “caring comment.”

  6. jakesprinter says:

    I browsing this blog then i found this interesting story, broke my heart Doc.

    • My heart broke too when I heard about it Jake. Yet, I was also happy and relieved to hear that someone cared enough to intervene and help that poor dog. As horrible as it was, it could have been much worse. So, I am thankful that there are heroes in the world. Anyway, I appreciate you dropping by Jake! It’s always nice to hear from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

