Embracing Compassion for All Living Things

Each one of us is uniquely different. Yet, in spite of our differences, we share a similar bond. Specifically, we are passionate about what is “important to us.” In other words, we may not share similar interests, ambitions, or beliefs in life. However, that is exactly what makes us so uniquely special. It is our individuality that makes life more interesting. Wouldn’t life be boring with a big “B” if we were all alike?

For most of us, we are driven by more than one passion in life. For instance, I have always loved helping animals, but I have other passions as well. My degree is in psychology, which has served me well in working with children and families. Plus, I also enjoy working with elderly people. For me personally, I am happiest when I feel that I am making a difference.

My true friends have been very supportive of my passions in life. By the way, it’s easy to decipher who are your true friends. They will “show interest” in your passions too. Nonetheless, having a blog is a wonderful way to “see” if your friends are interested in what you have to say! Moreover, the blogging community has been pretty awesome too. I have met some really cool bloggers who have just been phenomenal! Also, I have a loving husband who supports me in all of my endeavors. Plus, he just happens to be a vegetarian who loves animals. So, I guess it’s fair to say that I have been blessed in so many ways.

Now for the “pet peeve” part of this post! After all, we don’t live in a “purrfect” world (pun intended). As wonderful as people have been, every so often when I mention that I am advocating for animals I will hear comments like, “what about people or the kids?” On the other hand, I often get lots of praise from people because of my work with kids and families, which I appreciate. Yet, it’s not unusual for people to not be as “enthusiastic” when I tell them that I am an animal advocate. It’s not uncommon to hear negative comments. They’re not intentionally mean-spirited, but it’s more of a lack of understanding of why animals are important too.

Interestingly enough, I am not at all surprised by their comments. After all, kids and people in general are pretty important. As a matter of fact, at one point in my life, I was a kid too! So, it’s clear that I happen to adore people and kids too. However, what’s puzzling to me is the comparison that is made between the two. To be specific, does there need to be a competition between animals and people? Besides, who says that we can’t care about animals and people too? Is there a finite limit to compassion? Should we only care about people? Is compassion limited to only people? Maybe for some it is.

When I decided to start this blog, I knew that I wanted to have a voice for animals. I wanted to balance my passions in life. I have always been an animal advocate, but I wanted to devote more time to it.  For me personally, I do not put a limit on compassion. That is, I extend my compassion to animals too. Besides, it’s no surprise that most people do not put “animals” on their list of top priorities in life. So, why not make caring about animals a top priority? They need a voice too. If everyone felt that animals are not as important, who would be there for the animals?

So, that’s my pet peeve. I personally believe that there are some people who have less compassion for animals. I refer to this as “selective compassion.” In other words, their compassion is “person-centered.” It is difficult for those people to empathize beyond the human race. Furthermore, there are some people who say that they have compassion for animals, but their behavior does not match their words. For other people, compassion is shared equally with people and animals.

So, where do you fit in? Do you have compassion for animals too? Is there a limit to your compassion? What are some of your life’s passions?

About wordswithpurpose

Compassion motivates and inspires me. Whether it’s compassion for animals, the environment, or people–I embrace it. I try to live a compassionate life each and everyday. It gives me purpose.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Embracing Compassion for All Living Things

  1. You have a big heart that goes beyond human boundaries. i admire your passion for life, for any living things particularly those that can’t defend themselves. I work in an emergency setting where I take care of people, from infants to elderllies. It’s not just a job but it’s a calling as well. But my compassion does not confine me to my profession only, just like you, I think animals need as much care and dignity as people do. I can’t bear to see news that involves cruelty to animals. It’s too painful. As for advocacy, I hope to do more in the future especially now that my son loves animals or any living creature for that matter. God bless you and your family as well as in pursuing your passions in life. Thank you for being the voice of those who can’t speak for themselves.

    • Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. I was so touched by your heartfelt comment. I think that you have a very generous heart. The work that you do at the hospital is so very needed. I know that people must appreciate all that you do. As you said, it is a “calling.” Nonetheless, I think that it’s wonderful that you equally have compassion for animals as well. Also, it breaks my heart too when I see animals being abused on the news. I think those stories need to be aired to let people know what is going on, but it sure is hard to watch. As a matter of fact, they just had a story on last night about chimpanzees being used for horrific lab experiments. They endured 30 years of living in a cage and subjected to painful lab experiments, which proved to be useless. However, the good news is that these chimps were finally released to a sanctuary where they saw daylight for the very first time in 30 years! I did watch the video of them being released. They were beyond happy, and words can’t describe their reactions to experiencing freedom. Seeing their hugs with each other was especially touching for me. Nonetheless, I think it’s wonderful that your son shares a love for animals. I’m sure that there will be many more opportunities for you and your family to experience nature together. Thanks again for your kind and inspiring words. You are an awesome blogging friend! 🙂

  2. I am more compassionate to animals than I am to people only because I feel that animals are unable to help themselves and tend to suffer more. I know there are people out there who argue that animals have no feelings but I disagree. I once read an article about how a mother bear escaped from her cage upon hearing the cries of her cub as it’s stomach was punctured to milk the bile in a farm in China. Unable to free the cub she reportedly hugged the cub and strangled it and then killed herself by running head first into a wall. I find the numerous stories like this to be tragic and heartbreaking. Thank you for being an animal advocate and raising awareness. You rock!

    • Thanks so much for your comment! I think that you rock too (so does your blog)! It’s great to know that we share such a strong compassion for animals. I feel the same way as you do when it comes to animals. It amazes me when people say that animals have no feelings. They do feel pain just like you and I. That story about the bears is so sad. I can’t believe how some humans treat animals. Yet, these stories need to be told in order to raise awareness to the horrific problems that animals are facing. As tragic as that bear story is, it just goes to show how animals do feel emotional pain as well. I appreciate you sharing it!

  3. Chimpanzees act like humans, feel like humans. When I look at their facial expressions, they’re just as capable of emotions and emphaty. I don’t understand how some could do such cruelty. I’m happy that they’re free now. I hope this won’t happen again. Live your heart’s passion. It’s making a difference. Stay blessed.

    • Thanks so much for replying to my comment! Isn’t it just so wonderful to know that those beautiful chimpanzees are now free? However, I’m sure that they must suffer from some physical ailments and emotional issues after those horrific experiments. Anyway, it is just wonderful to know that they are roaming free in that sanctuary. As always, I appreciate your kind words. I hope you had a wonderful weekend! Stay blessed too. 🙂

      • Sony Fugaban says:

        In addition, the movies that I find really moving and in connection to your “The List” are Free Willy, Blood Diamond, and The Way Home (A Korean Movie in 2002). Honestly, I’m not much into reading and I can only count through my ten fingers how many book I read since I became an adult. Still, I am trying hard to read … Watching movies is my thing though!

      • Thanks for the recommendations! “Free Willy” is also one of my favorite movies. I cried my eyes out though. I really love that movie. I also love the theme song titled, “Will You Be There.” As a matter of fact, it happens to be my favorite song. It’s simply beautiful and spiritual too. I haven’t seen the other movies, but I plan on doing so. It’s already on my to do list. I love watching movies too. 🙂

  4. Sony Fugaban says:

    I stated in my “About the Blogger and This Blog” that I appreciate and respect the Aura up in the sky, bodies of water, mountains, stars, and the creatures of kingdom animalia and plantae. So like you, I also have compassion for animals. I once read from this beautiful book, The Way to Happiness, that the only way we can find real happiness is to be on good terms with the universe. It was there that I realized how each of the things in this world matters; I became aware that I have a lot to catch up on my responsibilities as a servant of the earth. And, the first step is respect the things I see around.

    As to passions in life, I have plenty actually but I want to enumerate at this point only the following:

    Teaching (http://yobynos.wordpress.com/category/the-educators-folder/)

    Taking Care of The Environment (http://yobynos.wordpress.com/category/the-eco-warriors-folder/)

    Parenting (http://yobynos.wordpress.com/2011/07/11/keeping-the-little-boy-in-my-heart/)

    Mountain Climbing (http://yobynos.wordpress.com/2011/04/12/why-do-i-packpack/)

    Exercising (http://yobynos.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/when-the-passive-health-buff-is-provoked-the-blabbermouth-squeals/)

    and

    Learning (http://yobynos.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/140/)

    Lately, I am trying to make a difference in my teaching methods because the schools I’m currently connected to still employs the orthodox methods of teaching. The latter is true to one of the two subject schools which I can expound through this link:

    http://yobynos.wordpress.com/2011/06/17/room-303-my-first-sharpening-room/

    As to the other school, my attention was called once by my Department Head (D.H.) because of making the students report on “some” topics, instead of me discussing it. For the record that was the first time I made use of “reporting” and it happened after two grading periods. During the confrontation, my D.H. made it clear that the school doesn’t approve nor welcome the practice of students’ research presentation through reporting. So I just told him how I value student’s participation in my class and I’m still the one who makes the most of the discussion taking place in my class. That challenged me to employ the method after that confrontation. To date, I was no longer confronted by this “reporting” in my class though I still feel resistance from my G.E. Well, she could fire me anyway just in case I am not doing good at this.

    I still want to share a lot about this but I have to catch the train in the next 20 minutes. Until then …

    • Thanks so much Sony for sharing your beautiful comment! I love learning more about other blogging friends. I see that we share a strong compassion for animals. Also, I agree with you that we should be good stewards of our lovely planet. By the way, I’m glad that you mentioned that book. I will need to check it out. As for your passions in life, I am amazed at all your life’s passions! I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts. I admire your “tenacity” in all that you do (i.e., teaching, parenting, mountain climbing, etc.). I don’t think that we can have too many passions in life. As long as we follow our heart, we will be true to our authentic self. Finally, I believe that learning is a lifelong process. There is always much to explore, share and learn in life. I’m blessed that you took some time out of your day to share some of your life’s passions. My life is more “enriched” because of it. 🙂

      • Sony Fugaban says:

        It’s a pleasure to see people who also have similar, if not the same, passions in life — just like you!

        I’m two steps behind your endeavors especially your advocacy for animals.

      • I so agree with you Sony! It is pretty amazing when we meet people who share similar passions. Nonetheless, I believe that you already are an animal advocate. You have a very compassionate voice. Now, here is the challenging part. It’s reaching those people who may not be aware of the horrific problems that animals face. Moreover, some people may already be aware of the problems, but are feeling somewhat apathetic about it. They may be reluctant to affect change. I think that raising awareness is a good first step in bringing about change. By the way, I am looking forward to checking out the book that you mentioned earlier. If you get a chance, try and check out “The List” here on my blog. I would highly recommend those books and movies as well. “The Cove” is one of the hardest to watch, but very worthwhile. Thanks again for dropping by friend. 🙂

      • Sony Fugaban says:

        I just noted those movie you recommended, my friend. I have to put in action that advocacy for animals first before I make a post out of it.

      • Great Sony! In the meanwhile, I hope that you have some fascinating nature experiences. Best wishes for you and your family. 🙂

  5. Sony Fugaban says:

    p.s.

    Traveling too but that’s already given as my blog’s title is “Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind”.

    Thank you for sharing this article with us!

  6. We see all the time how we are interconnected with other animals and life forms, and how our survival is dependent upon living in a compassionate way with other species.

  7. john tugano says:

    It is rare for a person to have a compassionate feeling towards Animals and I’m glad you are one those.I haven’t been engaged to some groups who are an advocate of protecting animals I think that was cool if I’m going to join.Just like you I respect and do care about them in simple ways.I salute you that you use blogging as a medium to speak for them..

    nice post..=)

    • Wow! Thanks so much John for your kind words. It’s words like yours that inspire me. I have really met some wonderful bloggers here at WordPress. It’s just overwhelming how kind everyone has been. Also, it’s great to hear that you care about animals too. It breaks my heart to think that there are those in the world that don’t care about animals. Nonetheless, I salute you as well for having a voice for those in need over there in your country. Many blessings to you and your family John. Thanks for your lovely comment. 🙂

  8. jakesprinter says:

    Great story I get your point, and i`m with you for that I love Animals too I have 6 Dogs and 2 Cats

    • Thanks for your kind comment Jake! I’m glad to hear that you are an animal lover too! I wish that we had more people like you. We need more pet parents in the world. After all, there are too many homeless pets. Plus, our pets do bring us so much happiness. Anyway, I appreciate you taking time to read my post and commenting. Best wishes. 🙂

  9. Jesper salonin says:

    Need to know whats wrong with me, and why i have such strong feelings for animals in need, or why i feel there sorrow so deep in my heart. Today its kinder silly, i wacthed my brothers chickens, they are five, but one was being cast out by the group, it was being attacked and was very dirty, we washed its wounds and its feathers, but seeing it sitting there in the chicken house, alone cast away from the others make´s my heart bleed.. Wierd thing about it all, is am allergies to must animals, but still i feel so strong compassion to thise animals, i would never harm a leaving creature, weather it be and animal or insect.. Is this normal? I have more love to animals than i do humans.. I read you blog, and feel you be the best bet, to get a prober answer. This is not a joke, i really need and answer

    • Hi Jesper! I really appreciate you dropping by and commenting! It’s especially great to know that other animal lovers outside of the WordPress community are also reading my blog. I must admit that I was very touched and inspired by your story. That was very kind of you to help that chicken in need. Kudos to you Jesper for your kindness! 🙂

      As for your question, I will do my very best to answer it. To be specific, I certainly don’t believe for one second that there is anything wrong with you for having such strong compassion for animals. I think we need more people like you in the world. I think the world would be better off if everyone had more empathy for all animals. By the way, I feel the very same way as you do about insects. It may seem weird to some people to care about insects, but I think all living creatures can feel pain. So, I think it’s “very normal” to have deep compassion for all living creatures. I hope that answers your question.

      I believe that it’s heartfelt comments like yours that inspire people to strive to make this world a better place for “all of us.” I know you inspired me! Thanks Jesper for being a friend to animals. I hope you drop by again soon. I’ll plan on writing a new post soon. Happy New Year! 🙂

  10. I love all living things, especially animals and insects. If an insect inadvertently comes in my house, I get a container with a cover on it. I then gently capture it and let it outside. It is not the insect’s fault that they flew into my house. If it can’t fly, I put the tip of a branch of one of my bushes into the container so it can crawl out itself. I try not to touch it so I don’t damage its fragile body. I have filmed bees as the wake up on my flowers in the early morning light. They are so beautiful and clever as they tuck themselves into the crest of the flower so they don’t fall off. I love to see them snuggling together to keep warm. I cringe at the coming of winter knowing full well that these magnificent insects will not survive. When I was a little girl I would catch water bugs in my pool and as an adult I release tad pools who swim helplessly around our pool if we didn’t take the cover off soon enough in the spring. Sometimes there are in the thousands of them. My sons help me gently gather them and than we release them in a nearby pond. Again, I couldn’t just dump them on the lawn when we wash our cover; it’s not their fault that their parents decided to lay their eggs on my cover.
    I have a cat that I absolutely love; she’s a beautiful Tuxedo cat. My daughter brought her home when her mother was killed four years ago. I had to bottle feed her for a couple of weeks as I kept her warm on my chest in my Irish sweater. She was so small, her paws where the size of my middle finger. I occasionally let her go outside, but only with me. I tell her “no bite chippy’s or any other living thing.” I understand that it is an instinct for her to hunt, but she is well fed, has plenty of toys, and a warm home to live in. These poor animals, including moles, birds, chipmunks, and other small animals have extremely hard lives and they are not her toys.
    I have enjoyed your blog and the kind people who have posted their love of animals and other living things. It’s nice to know that there are so many good souls on our beautiful planet. Thank you for being a dedicated animal advocate.

    • Hi Jacqueline! What a beautiful comment! I was so touched by your words. I must admit that I was so surprised to see a “new comment” since it’s been quite a while that I have posted on my blog. That being said, it really warms my heart to know that people are still reading my posts! Nonetheless, I apologize for my slow response. I just found your comment today. As a matter of fact, I had just come in from my garage where I retrieved a “moth” to release outside. It was a happy ending as the moth is back outside where he/she is free to fly! By the way, it’s great to know that other people such as yourself feel the same way towards all living creatures.
      I really appreciate your beautiful comment (words can’t express how much). I look forward to dropping by your blog soon. Likewise, I’ll update my blog in the near future.

Leave a Reply

