Inspired by the Harvest Moon

Credit: Harvest Moon by DebAnne70 Via Creative Commons

Ever since I started my blogging experience with WordPress not so long ago, I have “met” some wonderful people in the blogging community. They inspire me with their blogs and kind comments. I love reading other bloggers’ posts as much as I enjoy writing my own. Just recently, I read a beautiful poem titled “Under the Harvest Moon” by poet Carl Sandburg that was posted by another WordPress blogger. It was a very beautiful, inspirational poem. For those of you who are not familiar with the actual “Harvest Moon,” it’s a full moon that occurs closest to the autumn equinox. It appears orange due to the way light scatters in the atmosphere. In other words, the Harvest Moon is low in the sky near the horizon where the atmosphere is thicker, which absorbs blue light and allows red light to pass through. Just to point out, I’m not an expert on astronomy, so I needed to do a little research on that. Nonetheless, as a result of reading that beautiful poem, I decided to take some time to enjoy the real “Harvest Moon” on that very same evening that I read the poem. I first commented that I had planned to enjoy the experience later that evening. After my “Harvest Moon” experience, I posted this second comment:

“I thought I would give an update on this evening’s beautiful “Harvest Moon.” Not long after sunset, I went outside with my husband to enjoy the view together. We looked to the evening sky, and much to our surprise, we could not find the moon at all. We looked east, west, south and north. Yet, there was no moon to be found. However, the sky was clear. We saw numerous stars. I said, “How could this possibly be?” So, we decided to take a stroll down the road to look for the elusive “Harvest Moon.” After a short walk, we looked “low” in the east sky. And low and behold, shining through the swaying palm trees was a bright “orange moon.” I have not seen anything quite like it before. I have seen many moons, but nothing at all like this. It really was breathtaking! The color was as crisp as an autumn day. Just stunning! Anyway, we both loved it. We will cherish the memory. Seasons will change, but memories will last forever. Thanks again for the reminder! I would have completely missed it otherwise.”

I wanted to share my comment with you for one very important reason. To be specific, I wanted to show how other WordPress bloggers could inspire or enlighten us with their blog. It may be something as simple as sharing a beautiful poem. As in this case, the poem served as a reminder that the “Harvest Moon” was to make an appearance. I thought that I might have been too late, but soon realized via a quick internet search that I had not yet missed it.

Life is full of stunning natural wonders that we have yet to experience. The “Harvest Moon” is one such natural wonder that I am now familiar with more than ever. My beautiful experience with this natural wonder has given me a wonderful memory with family that I will cherish forever. As I wrote on my comment, “seasons will change, but memories will last forever.” And so will all of our wonderful experiences with family and friends.

As much as I enjoy writing what I am passionate about; I also love reading other bloggers’ posts. Other bloggers can inspire us, enlighten us, take us on exciting journeys, make us laugh, or even make us cry. Most of all, they are like a distant friend. Yet, the distance doesn’t weaken the blogging bond that we all share together. And as “The Island Traveler” so eloquently wrote on his blog, “It’s not about numbers, but it’s building meaningful connections.”

Here is the link to the poem that inspired me to learn more about the actual Harvest Moon: http://www.ingebrita.net/2011/09/12/under-the-harvest-moon/

For me personally, this learning experience turned into a beautiful, memorable moment in time. Why not enjoy the many natural wonders that Mother Nature has to offer with family, friends, or even experience them solo? It may be too late to enjoy the Harvest Moon this time around, yet there are so many other natural wonders that await your arrival.

About wordswithpurpose

Compassion motivates and inspires me. Whether it’s compassion for animals, the environment, or people–I embrace it. I try to live a compassionate life each and everyday. It gives me purpose.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Inspired by the Harvest Moon

  1. Hey, Donna, I love your blog and have awarded you with the Liebster Blog Award. You can get the details here:
    http://worldviastandby.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/the-liebster-blog-award/

    I am going to check out more about the Harvest Moon! Hope you are well!

    • Wow! I’m so honored by this. Thanks so much. I was just over at your blog enjoying your breathtaking photos! Then much to my surprise, I come across your lovely post. Within moments, I receive your lovely comment. It’s almost like it is my “birthday” today! Anyway, I’m on my way back to your blog.

      Also, my latest post, “Inspired by the Harvest Moon” is specifically about my awesome blogging friends like you! You inspire me! 🙂

  2. I believe I read , “under the harvest moon” too. Just beautiful, moving, poetic. I hope to see one during this Autumn. That would be magical.

    • It is a very beautiful poem “IT.” And the actual Harvest Moon is truly magical! Unfortunately, it won’t be making another appearance until September 29, 2012! However, it will be here again before you can blink your eye. As they say, time sure flies. There are a couple of other full moons this autumn, but not the “Harvest Moon.” So, be sure and mark your calendar! Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  3. This post sums up why I can’t wait to read my blogger friends post, read their comment, write them back, make a new post for them…it’s a beautiful cycle that makes our life more meaningful. I feel lucky to have found blogger buddies like you who are generous, talented, appreciative. Memories may fade but true friendship will stand the test of time. Thank you for being an inspiration, for mentioning me in this post, for making a connection to us all. I wish you and your family all the blessings, and a lot of memorable walks under the enchanting Autumn moon.

    • As always, you have a wonderful way of inspiring and moving people (as in me) with your heartfelt comments. I appreciate your kind words. I just thought that your quote was perfect to include in my post. I’m glad that you enjoyed reading my post. It truly is a wonderful blogging friendship that we all share. Plus, it’s also great to know that others who are not with WordPress also enjoy reading our blogs. I haven’t had a negative comment yet. I guess there is always time for that later! Ha! Ha! Anyway, much happiness to you and your family! 🙂

  4. Sony Fugaban says:

    What I really embraced about blogging is the positive environment. So far, I’ve never seen “hate” comments which are plenty to “other” sites like SNSs. Users seem to have abused the privilege of sharing their thoughts which gradually turned those sites into tunnels for desultory thoughts. The word needs words with purpose as your blog says. Well, I don’t think that issue deserves ample space in WordPress as that’s what separate it from them. WordPress got me because of the sense of positivity and optimism it promotes to its users.

    Let’s go back to your another inspirational post, Donna. Obviously, it inspired me more to continue reading other bloggers’ posts particularly the ones I follow. I have always believe that each blogger presents a microcosm of his own — which could open doors to learning. You will never know what a particular blogger is capable of …

    “Seasons will change, but memories will last forever. And so will all of our wonderful experiences with family and friends.” I would assume we are part of the last in the series which is FRIENDS. Like you, I also consider our conversations to last forever because of the inspiration I got from you as with so many other bloggers like “IT”, in our circle.

    Anyway, does Harvest Moon also appears in Asia? Sorry for the ignorance but I was thinking maybe Harvest Moon is limited to that part of the globe. I hope you’ll enlighten me on that. The mere thought of putting that on my to-do-list next year excites me already.

    p.s.

    http://yobynos.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/the-wandering-feet-and-mind-on-post-a-dayweek-question/

    • I am touched by your comment Sony. I think it’s wonderful that we share our words in a positive environment such as WordPress. This is my first blog ever, and it has been a wonderful experience. I love the fact that everyone encourages each other. There is no sense of “competition” whatsoever. It’s just a great place to be. I would consider my blogging buddies to be both friend and family. In other words, we are all one big happy blogging family! Ha! Ha! Who says you can’t have it all? As for the Harvest Moon, it does occur over there in Asia as well. So, I hope that you get a chance to see it. Thanks for making my day even more special with your beautiful comment. 🙂

  5. Barbara Rodgers says:

    As you say, “seasons will change, but memories will last forever.” I’m sure I will remember your experience and the link to my blog when next year’s harvest moon makes an appearance! I believe that words can move and inspire people, too. Thank you so much for the trackback, Donna!

    • You’re very welcome Barbara! Your blog is very inspirational. Also, I’m already looking forward to next year’s Harvest Moon. In the meanwhile, I’ll enjoy this endless summer here in Florida. Anyway, I’m sure glad that you got a chance to drop by! 🙂

  6. rumpydog says:

    Every time someone mentions the harvest moon I hear Neil Young singing, “Because I’m still in love with you, on this harvest moon…..”

    • Thanks “rumpy dog” for your comment! My blogging friend Sony told me about your blog. And I’m so glad that he did. I will be dropping by often because I love animals too. I hear that you have some really cute “animal poems” on your blog. That sounds pretty sweet to me. By the way, I have recently taken in four feral cats. I just had one spayed yesterday. She is already missing a stitch! So, she will be under extra close surveillance for the next few days. Needless to say, I haven’t had much sleep. It is a constant challenge because she wants to play all the time! As for the Neil Young song, I’ve heard a lot about it ever since I posted this. I must admit though that I am not familiar with it, but I will be soon. I’m going to check it out. I hear that song really rocks. Thanks again rumpy. Animals rock too! 🙂

  7. Sony Fugaban says:

    I’m glad you two met … 🙂

    • I am too! I enjoy dropping by Rumpy’s blog. He is one cool dog!! I appreciate you “introducing” us. Anyway, I think your blog rocks too. By the way, I like your new gravatar photo. That must have been a pretty awesome climb to the top! That looks like a nice spot to watch the harvest moon. As always, thanks for the comment Sony. 🙂

  8. wordsfallfrommyeyes says:

    I agree you meet great people via the wordpress community. They really to inspire, encourage, uplift. Your picture of the moon is AWEsome.

    • Thanks for your comment! My WordPress experience has been pretty awesome. I have met a lot of interesting, inspiring and talented people. Also, blogging is a great way to open our minds to different ways of thinking. It’s a wonderful way to challenge our minds! Don’t you think? Anyway, I love that picture too of this year’s Harvest Moon. I was very happy to find it via Creative Commons. Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

  9. john tugano says:

    The very reason on why I indulge myself into blogging is to have circle of friends.I may not going to gain money from it but seeing the people behind every commments they left on my blog is just like I have earned a real treasure on my chest.Those people really don’t have a connection personally but virtually they manages to show that they care by just sharing their thoughts and letting us be inspired of it..just like you “wordswithpurpose” thanks for inspiring me..

    I think I have witnessed that Harvest moon too already…i don’t know if its similar to Blue moon..hehhe..thanks for the wonderful post..=)

    • Thanks for inspiring me John with your generous comment! I’m so glad that you took time out of your day to share your thoughts here. I’m glad to meet you via blogging. I’m also glad that you enjoyed the post. I am looking forward to reading your blog too. 🙂

      By the way, I’m not an expert on the different moons, but I have read that the blue moon is the name given to the second full moon in any month. It occurs about every 33 months or so. The harvest moon is the first full moon that occurs closest to the autumn equinox. It always occurs in either September or October in the northern hemisphere. Once again, I’m no “moon expert” on this! Ha! Ha! Anyway, it’s just something that I read that I thought I would share with you. You might already know about it. I love to learn and share with other bloggers, so I hope I haven’t bored you with my lengthy comment! Anyway, have a wonderful week John! 🙂

  10. That is such a special time to see the moon, how fortunate! Thanks again for such a thoughtful post. I enjoy Barbara’s blog, too, and am happy to have recently found yours.

    • It really was a wonderful time to see the moon Cait! I still can’t get over that beautiful orange glow! We were both very fortunate to have experienced it. Nonetheless, Barbara does have a wonderful blog. It’s always a delight to drop by her blog as well as yours. Thanks so much for your warm comment. 🙂

  11. jakesprinter says:

    Nice story very touching love it .wish you more luck 🙂

  12. lutfi afifah says:

    great!! sometimes i also inspired someone blog… i could take a lesson from that. 🙂

    • I think it’s wonderful when other bloggers inspire us! Also, I learn so much from reading other people’s blogs. Life is full of endless possibilities that most of us have yet to discover. Thanks so much for your comment. 🙂

  13. I’ve only been on wordpress for a few months, but I’m already learning that everything you wrote in this post (as well as everyone’s comments) is true! It’s a wonderful community that I’m so happy to be a part of. I love the harvest moon (or any moon really) and my kids and I always celebrate it with a “harvest moon” cake and some romping and dancing around outside in the moonlight. It’s a great way to welcome one of my favorite times of the year.

    • Oh yes! WordPress is a wonderful community filled with kind and passionate bloggers who inspire and support each other. I really enjoy meeting everyone, albeit in cyberspace. I really like the interaction with other bloggers. That being said, I really appreciate your comment! 🙂

      That sounds like a great way to celebrate the arrival of the harvest moon. Dancing under the moonlight sounds like my kind of party! I bet the kids just love it. I think that you have given me a great idea for the next harvest moon…

Leave a Reply

